Postcards from camp: a postal story

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Nancy Paulsen Books ,
Pub. Date:
[2011]
Language:
English
Description
The hilarious correspondence between a reluctant first-time camper and his dad This fabulously creative book by Caldecott Award winner Simms Taback features handmade postcards and funny letters that readers will enjoy pulling out of their envelopes. Michael is new to sleepaway camp, and it's not going so well. He thinks his counselor is an alien, his bunkmates are pranksters, and it's constantly raining. So he sends his dad a series of urgent notes pleading for rescue. His dad is quick to reply, but encourages Michael to stick it out, reminding him that he met some of his best buddies at camp. Eventually there is a subtle change in Michael's tone - and a mention of a friend or two. Before you know it, Michael's a happy camper who's planning a longer stay next time. Fans of Griffin & Sabine and The Jolly Postman will delight in the artistry of this book; the incredibly detailed cards and envelopes and amazing stamps. And they will enjoy taking part in a correspondence that reveals a deep affection between father and child, as Michael's exaggerated pleas are answered by his father's gentle jokes and advice. Here is a book that families and friends will enjoy together - and there's even a classic campfire ghost story tucked into one of those envelopes!
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780399239731
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDbd692fbc-1bd1-87f8-347c-b760cf4d8bc1
Grouping Titlepostcards from camp a postal story
Grouping Authortaback simms
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-01-01 01:10:20AM
Last Indexed2019-11-22 03:58:05AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorTaback, Simms.
author_displayTaback, Simms
available_at_gcldGRC Juniper Library
detailed_location_gcldGRC Juniper Juvenile
display_descriptionFollows Michael's summer at sleep-away camp through a series of postcards sent between him and his father.
format_category_gcldBooks
format_gcldBook
idbd692fbc-1bd1-87f8-347c-b760cf4d8bc1
isbn9780399239731
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b3354492x.i66350992GRC Juniper JuvenileE TAB1falsefalseOn Shelfgrjj
itype_gcldJuvenile Easy
last_indexed2019-11-22T10:58:05.432Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_gcldE TAB
owning_library_gcldGrand County Library Dist
owning_location_gcldGRC Juniper Library
primary_isbn9780399239731
publishDate2011
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b3354492xBookBooksEnglishNancy Paulsen Books , [2011]1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 22 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_gcld
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b3354492x.i66350992On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue128, 129, 130, 126, 127
subject_facetCamps -- Fiction
Camps -- Juvenile fiction
Fiction
Postcards -- Fiction
Postcards -- Juvenile fiction
Specimens
Toy and movable books
Toy and movable books -- Juvenile fiction
Toy and movable books -- Specimens
title_displayPostcards from camp : a postal story
title_fullPostcards from camp : a postal story / presented by Simms Taback
title_shortPostcards from camp
title_suba postal story
topic_facetCamps
Postcards
Toy and movable books