John Barry: an American hero in the age of sail

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Westholme,
Pub. Date:
[2010]
Language:
English
Description

Finalist for the Rear Admiral Samuel Eliot Morison Award for Excellence in Naval Literature

"Ashore as well as at sea, Tim McGrath paints an informative, engaging and highly entertaining portrait of this worthy but neglected hero of American independence. The author shows us a man who was a magnificent embodiment of common sense--and uncommon courage and dedication. That such a work is long overdue makes its achievement all the more pleasurable."-- Wall Street Journal nbsp;

"Combining sophisticated use of sources with a pleasing writing style, McGrath masterfully rescues a father of the U.S. Navy from unmerited eclipse."--Publishers Weekly

"A nearly indispensable addition to U.S. Navy collections."-- Booklist

"McGrath employs exemplary narrative style in this work. . . . In John Barry , the author adroitly juxtaposes maritime history, narratives of naval combat, and early U.S. social history."--New England Quarterly

"McGrath is a compelling and lucid writer. He brings Barry to life, makes battles understandable, and provides the clearest description of Barry''s 1778 capture of the British transport ships Mermaid and Kitty that this reviewer has seen." --Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography

"A great read and an absorbing account of a drama-filled life."--Naval History

"Well researched, well written, and a pleasure to read, this book restores John Barry to the important place he once held as one of our nation''s great heroes. It is a tale of high adventure and personal courage and you will not want to put it down." -- JAMES L. NELSON, author of George Washington''s Secret Navy

"Readers of this vivid biography will imagine they smell the ocean''s salt air and the sulfurous fumes of gunpowder as they navigate these action-packed pages. Fans of Horatio Hornblower and Lucky Jack Aubrey will rejoice in discovering their real-life American counterpart." -- GREGORY J. URWIN, author of Facing Fearful Odds: The Siege of Wake Island

The man regarded as "the Father of the American Navy" returns to the quarterdeck in John Barry: An American Hero in the Age of Sail , the first comprehensive biography of this legendary officer in generations. Son of a hardscrabble Irish farmer from County Wexford, Barry was sent to sea as a child, arriving in Philadelphia during the restless decade before the American Revolution. Brave and ambitious, he ascended the ratlines to become a successful merchant captain at a young age, commanding the most prestigious ship in the colonies and recording the fastest known day of sail in the century.

Volunteering to fight for the Continental cause, Barry saw his star rise during the War for Independence. As captain of the Lexington, Raleigh, and Alliance, Barry faced down broadsides, mutinies, and even a fleet of icebergs. He captured the first enemy warship taken by a Continental vessel and fought the last battle of the American Revolution. His hard-won victory over two British warships simultaneously garnered him international notoriety, while his skill as a seafarer and cool temper established Barry as a worthy foe among British captains. Without a ship during the winter of 1776-77, the ever resourceful Barry lead a battery of naval artillery at the battle of Princeton. With peace came a historic voyage to China, where Barry helped open trade with that reclusive empire. In 1794, President Washington named Barry as the first commissioned officer in the new United States Navy. Given the title of commodore, Barry ended his career during America''s naval war with France, teaching the ropes to a new generation of officers, most notably Stephen Decatur.

Drawn from primary source documents from around the world, John Barry: An American Hero in the Age of Sail by Tim McGrath brings the story of this self-made American back to life in a major new biography.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781594161049
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDa0148908-6924-3259-88cf-033c05fe8a0f
Grouping Titlejohn barry an american hero in the age of sail
Grouping Authormcgrath tim
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-01-01 01:10:20AM
Last Indexed2019-11-21 05:01:08AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorMcGrath, Tim, 1951-
author_displayMcGrath, Tim
available_at_gcldGRC Kremmling Library
detailed_location_gcldGRC Kremmling Non-Fiction
display_descriptionBrave and ambitious, Barry ascended the ratlines to become a successful merchant captain at a young age, commanding the most prestigious ship in the colonies. During the War for Independence, he faced down broadsides, mutinies, and even a fleet of icebergs. With peace came a historic voyage to China, where Barry helped open trade with that reclusive empire.
format_category_gcldBooks
format_gcldBook
ida0148908-6924-3259-88cf-033c05fe8a0f
isbn9781594161049
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b3009527x.i58441736GRC Kremmling Non-FictionAB BARRY, J1falsefalseOn Shelfgrkan
itype_gcldAdult Biography
last_indexed2019-11-21T12:01:08.07Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_gcldAB BARRY, J
owning_library_gcldGrand County Library Dist
owning_location_gcldGRC Kremmling Library
primary_isbn9781594161049
publishDate2010
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b3009527xBookBooksEnglishWestholme, [2010]xv, 621 pages : illustrations, maps; 24 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_gcld
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b3009527x.i58441736On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue128, 129, 130, 126, 127
subject_facetBarry, John, -- 1745-1803
Biographies
Ship captains -- United States -- Biography
United States -- History -- Revolution, 1775-1783 -- Naval operations
United States. -- Continental Navy -- Biography
United States. -- Navy -- Biography
United States. -- Navy -- History -- Revolution, 1775-1783
title_displayJohn Barry : an American hero in the age of sail
title_fullJohn Barry : an American hero in the age of sail / Tim McGrath
title_shortJohn Barry
title_suban American hero in the age of sail
topic_facetBarry, John
History
Naval operations
Ship captains