The memory of all that: George Gershwin, Kay Swift, and my family's legacy of infidelities

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Crown,
Pub. Date:
[2011]
Edition:
1st ed.
Language:
English
Description
The Memory of All That is Katharine Weber's memoir of her extraordinary family.  Her maternal grandmother, Kay Swift, was known both for her own music (she was the first woman to compose the score to a hit Broadway show, Fine and Dandy ) and for her ten-year romance with George Gershwin. Their love affair began during Swift's marriage to James Paul Warburg, the multitalented banker and economist who advised (and feuded with) FDR. Weber creates an intriguing and intimate group portrait of the renowned Warburg family, from her great-great-uncle, the eccentric art historian Aby Warburg, whose madness inspired modern theories of iconography, to her great-grandfather Paul M. Warburg, the architect of the Federal Reserve System whose unheeded warnings about the stock-market crash of 1929 made him "the Cassandra of Wall Street."  As she throws new light on her beloved grandmother's life and many amours, Weber also considers the role the psychoanalyst Gregory Zilboorg played in her family history, along with the ways the Warburg family has been as celebrated for its accomplishments as it has been vilified over the years by countless conspiracy theorists (from Henry Ford to Louis Farrakhan), who labeled Paul Warburg the ringleader of the so-called international Jewish banking conspiracy.  Her mother, Andrea Swift Warburg, married Sidney Kaufman, but their unlikely union, Weber believes, was a direct consequence of George Gershwin's looming presence in the Warburg family. A notorious womanizer, Weber's father was a peripatetic filmmaker who made propaganda and training films for the OSS during World War II before producing the first movie with smells, the regrettable flop that was AromaRama. He was as much an enigma to his daughter as he was to the FBI, which had him under surveillance for more than forty years, and even noted Katharine's birth in a memo to J. Edgar Hoover. Colorful, evocative, insightful, and very funny, The Memory of All That is an enthralling look at a tremendously influential--and highly eccentric--family, as well as a consideration of how their stories, with their myriad layers of truth and fiction, have both provoked and influenced one of our most prodigiously gifted writers.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780307888594
9780307395887
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID93c48998-3699-cf4c-87f3-6500d767c644
Grouping Titlememory of all that george gershwin kay swift and my familys legacy of infidelities
Grouping Authorweber katharine
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2020-01-04 01:21:46AM
Last Indexed2020-01-24 03:49:35AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorWeber, Katharine, 1955-
author_displayWeber, Katharine
available_at_gcldGRC Hot Sulphur Springs
detailed_location_gcldGRC HSS Non-Fiction
display_description"For readers of Rich Cohen's Sweet and Low, this is a fascinating memoir of an extraordinarily influential American family, from the celebrated author of True Confections, Triangle, and The Music Lesson. The Memory of All That is Katharine Weber's memoir of the rich, strange, and fascinating cast of characters in her family, including her grandmother, Kay Swift, known both for her own music (she was the first woman to compose the score to a hit Broadway show, Fine and Dandy,) and for her ten-year romance with George Gershwin; her great-grandfather, Paul M. Warburg, the creator of the Federal Reserve System (for which he was vilified by Henry Ford, Charles Lindbergh, and countless conspiracy theorists as the ringleader of the so-called international Jewish banking conspiracy), the model for Annie's Daddy Warbucks, and the man known as the Cassandra of Wall Street for having forecast the Wall Street crash of 1929; and her crazy father, an eccentric filmmaker who made propaganda and training films for the OSS during World War II and who subsequently invented the regrettable and forgettable Aromarama movies (yes, you could smell them). The Memory of All That is an enthralling look at this tremendously influential family as well as a consideration of how their stories--with their myriad layers of truth and fiction--have both illuminated and influenced who Weber is today"--
format_category_gcldBooks
format_gcldBook
id93c48998-3699-cf4c-87f3-6500d767c644
isbn9780307395887
9780307888594
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b33160144.i65967203GRC HSS Non-FictionBIO WEBER1falsefalseOn Shelfgrhan
itype_gcldAdult non-fiction
last_indexed2020-01-24T10:49:35.619Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_gcldBIO WEBER
owning_library_gcldGrand County Library Dist
owning_location_gcldGRC Hot Sulphur Springs
primary_isbn9780307888594
publishDate2011
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b33160144BookBooks1st ed.EnglishCrown, [2011]270 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_gcld
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b33160144.i65967203On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue128, 129, 130, 126, 127
subject_facetAuthors, American -- 20th century -- Biography
Autobiographies
BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Composers & Musicians
BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs
BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Women
Biographies
Gershwin, George, -- 1898-1937
Swift, Kay, -- 1897-1993
Weber, Katharine, -- 1955- -- Family
title_displayThe memory of all that : George Gershwin, Kay Swift, and my family's legacy of infidelities
title_fullThe memory of all that : George Gershwin, Kay Swift, and my family's legacy of infidelities / Katharine Weber
title_shortThe memory of all that
title_subGeorge Gershwin, Kay Swift, and my family's legacy of infidelities
topic_facetAuthors, American
BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Composers & Musicians
BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs
BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Women
Family
Gershwin, George
Swift, Kay
Weber, Katharine