Searching for Virginia Dare: a fool's errand

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Coastal Carolina Press,
Pub. Date:
2003.
Edition:
1st paperback ed.
Language:
Unknown
Description
Four Centuries of Powerful Myth Surround the Infant Virginia Dare. Abandoned by England in 1587 and left to fend for themselves in the Carolina wilderness, Virginia and more than a hundred other colonists disappeared, leaving behind only scattered clues about their fate. Some say the Lost Colony survived by joining local Native American tribes. Some say Virginia Dare's descendants still walk among us. Will we ever really know? Following back roads and cold trails, the author stands toe to toe with the bones of English settlers and joins generations of historians, archeologists, and obsessed amateurs in seeking an answer to the mystery: What became of Virginia Dare and her family? An unconventional look at history, Searching for Virginia Dare moves from research to reflection, and brings the author face to face with her own life's journey -- the painful loss of a child, and family stories that, as an adult, she is only now beginning to understand. From laughter, to grief, to revelation, Searching for Virginia Dare is a unique narrative about the things that haunt us all. In the tradition of William Least Heat Moon's Blue Highways, Hudson's story is a spellbinding journey, an invitation into a deeper understanding of America and ourselves. Book jacket.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781928556398
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID7d40cc13-2f7a-1f57-c6db-c6f936b8ade3
Grouping Titlesearching for virginia dare a fools errand
Grouping Authorhudson marjorie
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-01-25 01:08:23AM
Last Indexed2019-11-20 03:38:52AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorHudson, Marjorie, 1953-
author_displayHudson, Marjorie
available_at_gcldGRC Granby Library
detailed_location_gcldGRC Granby Non-Fiction
display_description
format_category_gcldBooks
format_gcldBook
id7d40cc13-2f7a-1f57-c6db-c6f936b8ade3
isbn9781928556398
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b24836527.i42216771GRC Granby Non-Fiction975.6 HUD1falsefalseOn Shelfgrgan
itype_gcldAdult non-fiction
last_indexed2019-11-20T10:38:52.764Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNot Coded
literary_form_fullNot Coded
local_callnumber_gcld975.6 HUD
owning_library_gcldGrand County Library Dist
owning_location_gcldGRC Granby Library
primary_isbn9781928556398
publishDate2003
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b24836527BookBooks1st paperback ed.UnknownCoastal Carolina Press, 2003.xvii, 187 pages : illustrations, maps ; 22 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_gcld
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b24836527.i42216771On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue128, 129, 130, 126, 127
subject_facetDare, Virginia, -- 1587-
Dare, Virginia, -- 1587- -- Influence
Hudson, Marjorie, -- 1953- -- Travel -- United States
Roanoke Colony
United States -- Description and travel
title_displaySearching for Virginia Dare : a fool's errand
title_fullSearching for Virginia Dare : a fool's errand / Marjorie Hudson
title_shortSearching for Virginia Dare
title_suba fool's errand
topic_facetDare, Virginia
Description and travel
Hudson, Marjorie
Influence
Travel