Rules for saying goodbye

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Farrar, Straus and Giroux,
Pub. Date:
[2007]
Edition:
1st ed.
Language:
English
Description
"Kath is curious," observes her younger brother, Ethan, not without anxiety. She is thirteen; already everyone can see she's got her eye on bigger things than provincial Fresno can offer. Years in the glamorous chill of an East Coast prep school will introduce her to a razor-sharp sense of social distinction, cocaine "so good it's pink," and an indispensable best friend--all that she needs to prepare for life in Manhattan. There will be fourteen-dollar cocktails but no money for groceries; unsuitable men of enormous charm, and unsuitable jobs of no charm at all; and a wistful yearning for a transformation from someone of promise into someone of genius. In this deliciously witty and affecting debut novel, fiction winks at real life: Katherine Taylor is its muddled heroine, and also its author. Written in the tradition of Curtis Sittenfeld and Melissa Bank, with the gorgeous hues of a pile of Gatsby's shirts,Rules for Saying Goodbyeis a bittersweet yet comic coming-of-age tale that has an unerring feel for the delights and malaises of a generation.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780374252717
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID420e6ea1-d78d-ab0e-e6c7-235a06ab15c8
Grouping Titlerules for saying goodbye
Grouping Authortaylor katherine
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-01-01 01:10:20AM
Last Indexed2019-11-13 04:23:16AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorTaylor, Katherine, 1973-
author_displayTaylor, Katherine
available_at_gcldGRC Juniper Library
detailed_location_gcldGRC Juniper Adult Fiction
display_description
format_category_gcldBooks
format_gcldBook
id420e6ea1-d78d-ab0e-e6c7-235a06ab15c8
isbn9780374252717
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b27205496.i49620149GRC Juniper Adult FictionFIC TAY1falsefalseOn Shelfgrjaf
itype_gcldAdult fiction
last_indexed2019-11-13T11:23:16.877Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_gcldFIC TAY
owning_library_gcldGrand County Library Dist
owning_location_gcldGRC Juniper Library
primary_isbn9780374252717
publishDate2007
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b27205496BookBooks1st ed.EnglishFarrar, Straus and Giroux, [2007]311 pages ; 22 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_gcld
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b27205496.i49620149On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue128, 129, 130, 126, 127
subject_facetChick lit
Fiction
Single women -- Fiction
title_displayRules for saying goodbye
title_fullRules for saying goodbye / Katherine Taylor
title_shortRules for saying goodbye
topic_facetSingle women